It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more people encourage themselves to read books, which is considered a good habit since the wealth of vocabulary and different styles of writing help to improve our intellect. Some assume that those who read books have better language abilities and imagination than individuals who opt for television. I strongly agree with this statement, inasmuch as there are some convincing reasons for my point of view.

To begin with, the viewpoint of those individuals who consider that reading is a more effective way of gaining some essential things than television seems to have a more coherent sense than another one. The predominant reason for that is that reading exposes readers to more complex vocabularies, which most television programs still cannot provide in this day and age; obviously some TV programs, such as intellectual ones, include something significant, but the amount of that information is miserable. To be specific, most people who read easily get acquainted with new difficult words exactly through paper materials, since the provided context is more acceptable for the processing of the human brain than video content.

Besides the linguistic aspect, there is another one that appears to be just as important as the first one, and that is humans imagination. I assume that it works better while reading, since books offer more space to imagine themselves; while watching videos or television reduces this possibility, whereas the first impression from seeing works is limited to other ones in our heads. For instance, while reading a book, a person can imagine a different version of the voice or appearance of the main character based only on the basic information described by the author; when a film provides us with a final picture of how a group of people sees what everyone can read.

On the other hand, television also provides some essential knowledge for people, which can improve some skills. New content that has still been developed provides an opportunity to expand our perception of the world without the restriction of place or timing. Furthermore, the entertainment industry has developed content to such an extent that it can stimulate people’s imagination and more significant language aptitude through sounds. Basically, most things that a person can imagine while reading books appeared in their head precisely from visual things, such as films or an ordinary TV program.

To conclude everything mentioned below, I assume that books are much more beneficial than television, since they help more to develop humanity than another example of how anyone can get the new essential information. Such a strong position can be justified by the fact that books involve readers in actively participating in the story with the use of their imagination and extend their linguistic abilities more precisely through reading.