It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether books or videos can create better support for people’s creativity and language skills. Since, compared with video, reading offers more free image spaces and standard expression forms. Hence, I believe that it is more powerful to improve one’s imagination and linguistic level.

The process of reading provides a wider space for readers to construct unique characters and settings in their minds. For example, when reading Harry Potter, each reader imagines Hogwarts differently, influenced by their experiences and comprehension. This mental exercise enhances the reader’s thinking process , and such engagement is far more effective in developing a person’s creativity than passively watching a film, where the visuals are predefined.

Moreover, reading extends the valuable opportunity for vocabulary expansion and language acquisition. Common vocabulary from books, for instance, students who regularly read are exposed to a wide range of vocabulary and expression. This exposure helps them internalize correct spelling and grammar, facilitating better speech skills. In contrast, video film often plays with a simple style and relies heavily on visual cues, offering limited wording enrichment.

Although television can attract audiences with vivid settings and compelling actions, which are generated by the directors of a film, not the audiences, it largely deprives imagination experience. Furthermore, compared with literature, the word used in films tends to be less complex. Consequently, people have limited opportunities to develop their creativity and polish their wording.

In conclusion, while television has its advances in presenting stories, reading is a more effective approach that not only trains brains to be more creative but also enriches the foundation of language ability. Therefore, I agree that those who dedicate themselves to reading can acquire higher levels of imagination and linguistic skills.