It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

It is often argued that the STEM majors are studied more and more pupils and students nowadays. My country provides a lot of opportunities who choose to study science, technology, engineering and mathematics at high school or university, take for example, material support from the government’s corporation. In my essay, I want to shed light on popularity of STEM disciplines in modern society.

On the one hand, the process of renovation military sphere after World War 2 was the key factor of popularity of non-humanitarian disciplines. At the period of 1950 – 1980, many countries developed their defended complex which closely connected with STEM majors. Many countries such as The United Stated of America, France, The United Kingdom, The Soviet Union build institutes where mathematicians, physics and engineers created the atomic bomb which should prevent the World War 3.

On the other hand, the process of globalization more influenced on people attitude about STEM disciplines. The soviet professors created the first personal computer and prototype of local internet. This was the new stage of process of communication. Specialists could send and receive messages from colleagues by using only PC. At the beginning of the 21 centuries, this technology transforms the evidence of world’s population and more and more people can chat with each other on the Net. More and more people were become interested how does it works and after that they usually started to choose STEM disciplines at high schools and universities.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the STEM majors have developed since the World War 2, because different countries did not want to start the World War 3 after creation of atomic bomb. The era of globalization played not the last role in process of forming the global communication which needed innovations which invented STEM specialists.