It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

The modern studying system develops fast and motivates young people to be well-rounded. However, in recent years, it was thought that there is a trend on increasing popularity of STEM subjects among high schoolers and university students. This essay will discuss what can be the cause of this tendency.

One of the main reasons of this popularity is the attractive image. There are a lot of popular people in the world who became successful because of the knowledge in such fields as mathematics and engineering. They could create unique products which not only attracted attention of the public and brought millions of dollars, but also had a significant impact on the world development and life improvement. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg founded a well-know now company Meta and turned from an average student to a media magnate.

Another factor is the accessibility of education in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. First of all, the governments of different countries strongly support any studies and discoveries in these spheres and provide students of majors related to STEM subjects with significant scholarships. What is more, there is a lot of free educational content that arouses people’s interest from an early age and creates a knowledge base for further development. For example, popular among younger generations platform YouTube can provide hundreds of videos about the Big Bang Theory and explanations of the wonders of our world from the scientific point of view.

To sum up, I think the main reason of the popularity of the STEM disciplines is that the modern world creates great conditions for it.