It is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school than secondary school Does the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks

Although learning a foreign language at primary school help kids acquire it easily, it may leads to pupils confusion. In my opinion, the advantages of acquiring a new language at an early age brings more benefits that exceed the potential drawbacks.

One of the most significant merits is absorbing the foreign tongue faster, since kids are already in the language acquisition stage. For instance, English is a core academic subject in kindergarten as well as Arabic in Egypt. The results of this approach will be significantly demonstrated in their later work life, as they will become more experienced and resilience in their working domains. Moreover, children are naturally enthusiastic and can develop an interest in foreign language through educational games, which are fun and attractive, to aid children attain the language perfectly.

On the other hand, it also carries demerits. Teaching an additional tongue at primary school may potentially confuse languages if children try to learn their own language and a foreign one at the same time. Furthermore, many children lose interest in foreign languages as soon as they are tested like in other school subject, so languages are no more fun if children have to study and keep information like other curriculums, they consequently lose interest in learning languages.

While learning a foreign language at primary school comes with inherent uncertainties and potential drawbacks, the benefits of acquiring additional language often outweigh the drawbacks.