It is common aspiration among many young people to run their own business,rather than work for an employer. Do you think the advantages of working for yourself outweigh the drawbacks?

It depends on one’s mindset whether they want to work for others or be their own boss. In my opinion, I think the advantages of working for my own outweigh the limitations. I will delve into this topics and explain my reasons.

Working for own self is good because you can try to seize opportunity in your life to become successful. I know setting up a business does not mean you will become successful or wealthy, but at least you try. For example, I created my own business when I was 25 years old and incurred loss in the first two years and started to earn at the third years onward. It is not an easy road to success but I feel it worth our effort because we have more control and can earn more if we work harder. However, we are typically earning fixed salary if we are employed by others.

Another advantage of having own business is we can work and retire whenever we want and we are not subjected to retrenchment. For example, many enterprises retrench staff due to market uncertainty and the lay-off employees are out of jobs, this leads to financial strain to many households. If you have your own business which may provide you steady income regardless of the economic condition given that your business is earning profit.

Lastly, I know starting a business does not guarantee success and I know some people are losing money for their businesses too. But, I feel our life is short hence we should try to achieve our aspirations just like the well-known basketball legend, Michael Jordan once quoted “I can accept failure but I can never accept it if I never try”. As said, I opine that working for self is better.