It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The ongoing debate of whether individuals are born with talents or if they can achieve it by training and dedication is quite intriguing to discuss. While some people argue that innate talent provides natural support and advantage, others believe that with the right training, dedication, and guidance, anyone can reach the same level of success.

Supporters of the innate talent theory believe that individuals are born with their own unique talent that make them stand out from the crowd. In my understanding, quite a few significant figures such as Wolfgang A. Mozart and Usain Bolt was truly born with their gifts. Mozart, the musical prodigy had begun composing music at a young age, which can be seen as a sign of inherent musical abilities. Similarly, the record-breaking athlete, Bolt, showed signs of physical capabilities that exceed his fellow same-aged friends, which suggests the advantages of having inherent physical traits.

On the other hand, some believe that success and excellence is primarily due to training, dedication, hard work, and discipline. They believe that every child has the potential to excel at various activities and interests, regardless of whether they are born with the talent or not. For instance, an individual who may initially struggle with a sport can achieve proficiency through lessons and perseverance. This doesn’t only apply to certain talents, it is also applicable to school subjects, perhaps a student who finds a particular subject challenging can improve significantly with the right support, practice and resources. This viewpoint suggests that with the right effort, anyone can reach excellence, regardless of initial abilities.

From my point of view, both innate talent and training play a huge role in reaching success. While innate talent and natural abilities may give some people a stepping stone towards excellence, without dedication, training, and perseverance, it is as good as nothing. With or without talent, individuals must put in their hard work if they aim to achieve levels of success. In conclusion, I believe that a blend of both innate ability and dedicated training is what creates the best chance of immaculate success. However, this doesn’t mean that solely relying on training cannot also result in immaculate success, as long as individuals put their hard work and dedication into it, I’m sure that they can make a name for themselves.