It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives.

Throughout our lives, we will be faced with numerous options and opportunities, which may significantly alter our lives, even though they entail risks. Some argue that in both professional and personal lives, we need to have the might and bravery to take risks, while others contend to stay in their safe zones. I personally concur that the benefits of taking risks outweigh its drawbacks for compelling reasons.

Firstly, risks provide people the room and opportunity to grow. In fact, there are only two outcomes that may prevail, which are success or failure. I personally believe that both results can benefit people in their own ways. Of course, all people strive to succeed in their studies or careers, in order to obtain a better quality of life. Nevertheless, this does not make failure a bad thing. In contrast, it may enable us to identify our weaknesses through our failures and learn from them. For instance, my sister ever once started a clothing business, which was not as successful as she expected. However, that neither stopped her from trying nor made her desperate. Instead, she realized her lack of advertising skills and decided to improve herself. As a result, she is now able to obtain large success, with thousands of followers on Instagram.

Secondly, it is crucial to expose ourselves to risks in order to improve our decision-making skills. It is true that we should not take every opportunity that comes our way. Nonetheless, we need to possess the ability to filter the opportunities and take the ones that align with our long-term goals. As an example, my cousin had the chances, either to become a doctor in Indonesia or to continue his study in Germany, majoring in computer science. It turned out that he took the opportunity to study in Germany because it was more beneficial to him, as he wanted a career at an international level.

Nevertheless, it is undeniable that not a few people made the wrong decision in their lives and ended up in desperation. Because of this, I personally believe that it is pivotal to ask other people about their opinions about the risks or opportunities we are facing. Sometimes, we can view our problems better from different perspectives by discussing it with people that we trust.

In conclusion, risks are indispensable parts in people’s lives, which enable them to become more mature. Taking risks may also be a life-changing experience, for they do not occur everyday, instead it may be a once in a lifetime opportunity. Furthermore, being exposed to risks will also train decision-making skills. However, I believe that it is imperative for people to consider the advantages and disadvantages of taking those risks and view it from different perspectives.