It is neither nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As tuition fees have been increasing in recent years, the affordability of higher education has always been a topic of interest. Some people argue that it is impossible and ineffective to offer the vast majority of the youth to study in university. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement.

There are many compelling reasons/ arguments why it is unfeasible/impossible for a country to provide entry to tertiary education for all young individuals. To begin with, the widespread entry into university does not seem really useful to a country since the government needs to take the needs of the economy into consideration. To be more specific, the high enrollment rate would require more teachers and professionals, therefore, universities need to spend more time to train teachers as well as money for them. Additionally, universities are not big enough for a huge number of students on campus. The quality of education and facilities will not be guaranteed. As a consequence, it also does not seem useful for the whole country to accommodate all youth with higher education.

Another pronounced drawback is that placing a high proportion of young people to enter university would lead to a competitive job market. This is mainly because all people would have their own bachelor’s degree, so it is no longer feasible for all of them to find a well-paid job. If everyone had admitted to college, it would have led to imbalances in the workforces and damage the economic structure of a country. For example, during the Covid-19 there are many young people who become jobless because of their ability and skills.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is not only possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.