It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation

Some people consider that the growth in minor crime is due to the influence of violence in the media. This essay will discuss the reasons which might arise beside violent content in the media and propose ways to address the rise in juvenile crime.

A key reason behind the rise in the percentage of minor crime might be the media in the globalisation world these days. In other words, more and more violent videos and games in international media have served as a model for the younger generation. In addition, many parents give their children a lot of freedom and fail to supervise them on a regular basis since they are struggling to put bread on the table. For instance, children these days frequently watch videos on Youtube which is the most prevalent video platform on the Internet. Unfortunately, this platform contains a large number of videos featuring weapons and gangs, which can lead to copycat behaviour among the youth. If children imitate these harmful actions, they may become involved in criminal activities without adequate understanding of the consequences. To address this issue, families need to pay more attention to and control the media content their children are exposed to. Additionally, stricter preemptive censoring should be applied with media products by the government.

Another factor contributing to the increase of juvenile crime is the issue within families of young offenders. It means that the more modern the world is, the more depressed responsibilities parents face. For example, stress-related illnesses in work places can cause domestic violence as the potential breeding background for crime. Having experiences in violence, an adolescent is more likely to repeat such behaviour and engage in criminal activities. This problem could be mitigated by government intervention in troubled families, providing them with appropriate support for living conditions and child-rearing through both governmental and non-governmental programs.

In conclusion, two main factors for the minor crime are the spread of unsuitable media content and issues within families of young offenders. However, these problems can be managed through cooperation between the government and families in controlling media exposure and improving children’s living conditions.