It’s better to buy just a few expensive clothes rather than lots of cheaper clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people tend to assume that buying a few but expensive clothes is more beneficial than buying many affordable ones. I completely agree with this statement, and tend to think that minimal consumption will tackle both environmental and financial problems at once.

One reason why… It is undeniable that consequences of people’s actions play a pivotal role in environmental pollution. When people buy low-quality goods, it’s obvious that it will not serve them for a long time and they will have to get rid of them soon. For example, a consumer decides to buy 3 cheap shirts instead of buying 1 brand high-quality shirt. As a result, cheap shirts will wear out faster, it makes people buy more cheap low-quality shirts and toss hundreds of them within several years. Recycling the litter leads to greenhouse and carbon emission, which has a huge impact on overall weather conditions. Apart from that, lowering the manufacturing of loads of clothes will reduce this detrimental impact as well as clothes overconsumption.

Another reason is… Alongside the influence of pollution, increasing consumerism also leads to financial problems since mass-market clothes are cheaper, which is contributed by being low-quality and non-durable. Despite seeming from at first sight that buying cheap clothes will save money, it’s not true. Thus, durability of high-end clothes is much better compared with the cheap ones. For instance, one quality skirt can be worn for several years and even more. In contrast, cheap skirts, which were made from low-quality textile, will not last long. In that case, people will be buying more skirts and wasting more money.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that buying a few expensive clothes is more beneficial in terms of modern-day life. Reducing consumption of many low-end clothes resolves not only environmental issues, but also personal problems of individuals with finance.