Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Life was more enjoyable when technology was not as complex. Although, some people argue that the conveniences and improvements technologies provide improved lifestyle, however this essay explains how livelihood was healthier and environment friendly when technology was less complex.

Firstly, I believe that the people were more physically healthier earlier because they were more active at that time. For instance, people used to do household works manually which keeps them fit. Moreover, people used to go to market by walking or by bicycle which helps their body functioning and makes them healthy. In contrast, nowadays, mostly people are inactive due to driving bus, sitting and rarely do exercises which lead to various problems like back pain, heart problems etc.

Secondly, production of technological tools and mechanisms and disposal of outdated devices release harmful substances which affect environment. Manufacturing such products consumes significant amount of energy and harmful chemicals which create air pollution and affect ecosystems. Non-recyclable tech products consume lands and creates long-term environmental challenges. However, less polluted environment was due to less dependence on technology.