Living in country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Recent decades have witnessed a debate and controversy about whether residing as an expat where it is compulsory to speak foreign languages can severely spark many social and practical problems. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this statement.

To begin with, it is undeniable that non-native dwellers can typically encounter many struggles in terms of relationship-building due to the emergence of language barriers. Irrefutably, the establishment of a close-knit friendship typically requires more than just a basic conversation but also the mutual interests that one another shares, resultantly, which signifies that limited vocabulary ranges can potentially hinder foreign speakers from forging and cementing their relationships with others, proportionately exerting severely adverse impacts on their well-being.

Another incontrovertible issue is that living overseas can lead to many unfavorable situations in daily life. Doubtless, while many occasions often require sufficient foreign language skills, such as reading public signs on the streets or ordering food, it is necessary for expats to speak the languages well; hence, if a foreign speaker is incapable of comprehending the nation’s mainly spoken languages, it is likely that they will have to cope with a great deal of inconvenience, proportionally making them feel disturbed and disheartened simultaneously for a long period of time.

In conclusion, by virtue of the aforementioned reasons, I am of the opinion that living in a country where speaking foreign languages is compelled can gravely prompt social problems and practical issues, as it can be unquestionably detrimental to the non-native dwellers’ wellness.