Living in country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Do I agree that living in a country where I have to speak a foreign language can cause social and practical problems?

In my opinion, in order to live in a foreign country I do have to learn the language so I can socialize and actually deal with the citizens. However, I don’t think it will cause serious problems. For example, if I’m Arab and I go to an Arab country, the dialects are quite similar so I wouldn’t have to speak their language to deal with the people there. On the other hand, if I go to Turkey, it would be better if I knew a bit of their lingo. It might cause minor problems though because if I’m Arab, some of the dialects are similar but they don’t have the same meanings so it might cause misunderstandings.

Another disadvantage is it might be difficult to make new friends because of the language barrier, but I do think there are a couple solutions to that. Like using an electric translator even if it’s just in the beginning. Speaking a native language might also lead to racism, personally I don’t fully understand how that’s a problem, but I’ve seen that happen in my everyday life. Either people get shaken up that the foreign person is planning on something and speaking of it normally since no one there understands what they’re saying, or just feeling uncomfortable around them.

There are other advantages though, in school for example, students may be learning a language that is foreign to them, but to the international student it’s easy since it’s their original language.

In the end, even though there are advantages and disadvantages, I think it’s completely fine to live in a native country if I don’t know their origin language. It’s also good to gain experience!