Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Various developments contributed dramatically to the rise of life expectancy rate. For instance, a century ago people could live only till their sixties or seventies. Otherwise, nowadays we can see people at the age of 80 who live their best active life. So, such statistics can contribute to a large number of benefits for today’s society.

First of all, a number of employees can be slightly increased as the retirement age can be lengthen for a couple of years. Consequently, there will not be a lack of good specialists due to the wide experience and amazing skills of older people. On such occasion, the production and sales of many companies will climb rapidly. What is more, the salary of experienced people will be greater as they provide a wide range of possibilities for their employers.

Secondly, older people can be involved in various activities connected with environment. It is observed that everyone has something to be keen on when we speak about gardening, planting trees and flowers, going to the forest for a walk, etc. So, governments can make volunteer clubs on interests to help the environment. For example, while getting pleasure from walks in the forest, older people can pick the garbage around. It will also help to unite older people and make new acquaintances.

To conclude, I would like to say that there are further more benefits of increased life expectancy rate. And if governments can make profits from this statistics, it will greatly contribute not only to economy and environment, but also to closer relationships in society and happier life.