Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is his a positive or negative development?

In recent times, the use of computer games by adults during leisure time has significantly risen. This trend is different from life in the past, characterized by physical interactions among neighbors and frequent exercise. The reasons for this shift in paradigm are multifaceted. While some people remain indifferent about taking a stance, I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

In earlier years, communal living, which fostered a spirit of unity , was the norm. Folktales by moonlight, stage plays ,and wrestling competitions featured in daily village activities as a means of relaxation after the day’s toil. Cultural erosion and modern-day architectural designs that prioritize privacy have drastically limited interpersonal relations as seen today. Additionally, technological advancement in the past few years is another causative factor. Video games used to be a tool for pacifying kids; however, with their ever-improving, sophisticated software, even adults have become captivated and addicted. This newfound hobby increases the time they spend alone. Furthermore, the present global economy has pushed people to embrace working multiple jobs to attain financial stability. Consequently, there is little or no free time to interact with neighbors or indulge in physical exercise like before.

Although playing video games comes with an indispensable feeling of satisfaction, it has resulted in more harm. Short attention spans and minimal concentration are consistent with video game players. Over time, they become so addicted to the games that they barely notice what is happening in their immediate environment. This distraction may prove fatal; for example, a babysitter who pays more attention to video games than to the child. Gambling is another vice that video gamers engage in. In a quest to prove their expertise, they place bets on the outcomes of games. This often results in a ripple effect of stealing and violence. Finally, spending time with older adults creates an avenue where one can learn about one’s culture, customs, and traditions, which may not be obtainable in history classes. Minimal social interaction, as seen nowadays, creates cultural loopholes, resulting in individuals who know next to nothing about their ancestry and heritage.

Therefore, caution must be exercised in homes and society, to limit the use of video games and curb the many disadvantages associated with their excessive use.