Many adverts target children. What problem does this create? And how can this problem be solved?

Young children are one of the major demographics that are frequently targeted by advertising companies especially with products like unhealthy foods and toys. While these ads may be effective for most organizations to boost sales and profits, the problem caused by child-targeted advertising raise serious concerns for both health and family dynamics but this can be resolved by creating adverts that focuses on educating and encouraging little children to eat only healthy foods.

One major concern is that advertisements for high sugar and fatty foods contributes to poor eating habit and increase in childhood obesity. Children are easily influenced by colorful fun ads promoting junk foods to them in an irresistible manner making it difficult for parent to encourage healthy eating lifestyle. Furthermore, the exposure of unhealthy food advertisement increases the risk of childhood obesity and diabetes and other long-term health issues, as children often lack the ability to critically assess the nutritional values of what they see.

Another significant problem is the rise of “pester power”, where children repeatedly pressure their parents to buy advertised products that pops up on their screen when they are watching television or social media. This contact nagging can lead to an unease atmosphere of tension and financial strain within families, as parents may be obliged to give in to their children’s demands, even if it’s an unnecessary or luxury items. However, these dynamics foster materialistic values over time and can harm family relationships.

To address these problems, government needs to impose stricter regulations on advertising aimed at children. Advertisers must focus on promoting healthier food options, while some countries, such as Sweden and Norway, have already banned child- targeted ads altogether. Such policies would reduce children’s exposure to manipulative marketing.

In conclusion, while advertising to children may be have its positive benefit on businesses, it also poses a significant risk to children’s health and family well-being. However, stronger regulation laws and promoting healthier alternatives are crucial steps in mitigating these issues.