Many animals are in danger of extinction. Some people say only animals that are useful to humans should be protected. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that the government should concentrate on protecting some beneficial animals instead of all of them. Although I agree that helpful species are prioritised to preserve, I still believe that endangered animals may facilitate potentially substantial advantages for humans and other organisms.

First and foremost, this policy of preserving all species tends to exert economic burdens on governments and environmental organizations. Particularly, each animal has their own distinct preservation methodology, and conducting specialized research requires substantial investment. In addition, the practice of protecting numerous threatened species on a large scale can entail an imbalance allocation of national resources. In other words, other fields such as healthcare, education,… are threatened by an imbalanced allocation of national resources which is caused by heavy expenditures on preserving animals. Aftermath, it tends to trigger negative effects on residents’ quality of life, reducing their overall welfare systems.

However, it is conspicuous that protecting all threatened animals offers potential benefits to humans, notably in regard to maintaining the balance of ecosystems. Particularly, animals exist in the interconnected web of lines, and the absence of specific species could disrupt the whole food chain, leading to some irreversible ecological effects. For instance, starfish prey on sea urchins, which prevents them from eating seaweed – a keystone species of building marine ecosystems and providing oxygen to the planet. As a result, this policy may contribute to the deterioration of biodiversity and even lead to some far-reaching consequences on humans. Without human involvement in preserving these important species, not only can it bring endangered animals closer to the brink of extinction, but it also adversely/detrimentally affects the survival of humanity in the future.

In conclusion, even though the perspective that endangered organisms should not be protected can be beneficial, I am convinced that total animals, including useful and threatened species, potentially need conserving. Without considering the ecosystem, this approach is unlikely to deliver long-term prosperity.