Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives?

As we are living in a digital and technological era with wide access to the internet and strong telecommunication, the way of dressing and fashion trends are becoming globally. The social media has shown a great amount of effectiveness in global trending through advertising and bolding one especial piece of cloth or cosmetic appliances. There is might be positive aspects of fashion development, while the downsides are not negligible. This essay will discuss the effect of global fashion in individuals’ life, and both aspects of this development.

To begin with, people with following social media could bring every single trend in any parts of the world in their life style. For instance, every year we will be acquainted by famous fashion online pages the color of year and consequently clothes with that announced color. As access to the smart phones and the internet has become convenient, every person in all over the world can follow these trends on social media. For more influence, the trend could be advertised by well-known and popular individuals like actors.

This global fashion trend has advantages for businesses and maybe youth. Businesses increase their sell by introducing new products and show off. Youth enjoy new trends as they want to be updated and experience new thing to give others attention from visual aspects. However, most of these trends are considered fast fashion in which the environment will be affected badly by wastes and chemicals. Every time a new trend will be announced, millions of chemicals will be used to produce new cloths and cosmetic commodities. The recycling process of these chemicals would consume a huge amount of energy. Moreover, after being out of date every short-life trend there would be a giant waste that their decomposition will last years.

Overall, global fashion trends have strong effect on peoples’ lives that following those trends might be beneficial for big companies or youth temporary satisfaction, while have detrimental negative effects on environment. In my view, most of these trend is not environmentally friendly.