Many believe that art education (music, painting, drama, etc.) should be a compulsory part of the school curriculum. Others think that schools should focus on core subjects like math and science, as these are more beneficial for future careers. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing debate regarding whether subjects such as art and music should be taught in school to enhance students’ creative abilities. Some believe that these subjects are unnecessary and especially core curriculum subjects, such as math or physics, are more valuable than that of arts-based subjects. In this essay, we will provide the reasons behind this phenomenon and assess several reasonable opinions.

Proponents of the first view claim that fundamental purpose of artistic subjects is developing creativity and improving the cognitive skills. Moreover, for example, students composing music or creating artwork learn to generate original ideas rather than simply memorizing information. Hereinafter, arts education plays a pivotal role in supporting personal expression which is followed by building confidence and individuality. In turn, these human qualities are more considerable for students who are in the field of modern industries, including design, advertising, media, and technology.

On the other hand, there is no counter argument that key academic disciplines are more essential. Furthermore, mathematics, science, and languages provide foundational knowledge needed for higher education and employment. Additionally, the fate of future doctors and engineers is solely related to traditional subjects in school. Supporters of this view often cite that schools have limited time and resources, so priority should be given to these subjects. For instance, strong literacy and numeracy skills are necessary for most careers.

In conclusion, while some people believe that the main goal of art and music is to expand students’ creative abilities, others argue that these subjects perform a supporting role alongside fundamental academic disciplines. In my view, although core subjects are indispensable, art and music are equally important because they promote creativity and contribute to students’ overall development.