Many believe that art education (music, painting, drama, etc.) should be a compulsory part of the school curriculum. Others think that schools should focus on core subjects like math and science, as these are more beneficial for future careers. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that schools should give greater emphasis to science-related subjects as it directly contributes to technological advancement, which ultimately benefits graduates. On the other hand, others suggest that arts and music should receive equal attention because of their influence on the students’ creativity and expression. This essay will discuss both views and why I believe that a diversification of school subjects should be an essential part in students’ long-term success.

On the one hand, technological advancement seems to be inevitable in this modern world, and the needs of qualified individuals to take on jobs in these fields are increasing. With rising demand, more employment opportunities will be available to those pursuing a career in these areas. Professionals such as technicians, engineers, and scientists, are expected to receive higher take-home pay than those who work in other fields. To better prepare students, schools should provide more opportunities for them to explore and develop passions for these subjects from an early age. One way is to amend their curriculum by adding more hours to the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) subjects and reduce the time allotted for arts and music.

However, if arts and music subjects were reduced or removed from the curriculum, some people fear that it could impair students’ creativity and their ability to express themselves. Subjects like music, drawing, and drama are crucial for students to learn to express ideas and emotions in original ways. This not only boosts imagination but also helps learners develop confidence and individuality. Moreover, the mastery of these subjects is also beneficial to the STEM subjects to some extent. For example, while it is widely known that developing an app requires a profound understanding of the STEM subjects, designing its models and interface involves a great deal of creativity. All in all, both domains complement each other in many ways.

While both views are valid, I personally think that both groups of subjects should be equally emphasised in the school instructions. By learning STEM as well as arts and music subjects, students can develop to be more complete individuals with a wider range of skill sets for them to thrive in the world of work. In addition, this balanced approach will also help both sides of the brain to function effectively.

In conclusion, a focus on STEM subjects allows students to better prepare the knowledge and skills needed for the job markets, but balancing it with arts and music can help students grow to be better-rounded individuals, which I believe should be the right path to take.