Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart.

Some people are of the opinion that modern technology has played an important role in keeping people together, while others claim that it has reduced the connection among people in this day and age. Although both schools of thought hold merits, I agree more with the former perspective based on some rationales that are discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several reasons that explain why some individuals suggest that people can be closed with others thanks to the development of technology. In the past, due to the limited access to technology applications, if a person needs to exchange information, they must directly communicate with other people, which excessively required their time and effort, making it highly challenging for them to be intimate. However, nowadays, there are various forms of communication that people can utilize to achieve final purposes, ranging from social chatting to engaging in streaming rooms. By taking part in these platforms, people can deliver their personal interests and plans to others without any obstacle, helping to have a better understanding of each, which reduces the gap among people.

On the other hand, even though modern technology has offered people with many advantages, opponents of the previous view strongly believe that it can make people apart. It is true that there are many forms of entertainment that people can experience in the era of technology and entertainment, such as social media platforms, which offer them virtual space to exchange information or talk with their friends. Spending too much of time on these activities may make them sedentary, decreasing their time for outdoor activities. This trend can negatively effect people’s mental health, making them hesitant to interact with other ones, eventually creating a large distance among individuals.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are valid arguments on both sides of this issue, I believe that modern technology is very helpful in bringing people together due to its practical values. However, people should allocate their time reasonably for using modern technology, as they could bring potential effects on our social circles.