Many companies are now allowing employees to work remotely. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this trend, for both the employee and the employer? Should governments incentivize companies to offer remote work options?

It is undoubtedly true that numerous companies let the employees work away from the workplace. Although this phenomenon has largely positive impacts for both the companies and workers, there some disadvantages of it as well. I strongly in the favour of government subsidies for the firms to offer work from home. This essay intends to highlight my viewpoints followed by suitable examples in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, remote work can help staff members in various ways such as increased family time as well as saving money and time on commute. To clarify, As worker does not need to go to workplace for the job, he or she can spend more time with the family that is spent on the journey. Also, money that is spent on the transportation to the workplace can be saved by working from home. Additionally, the employer also can benefit in different ways such as saving on utilities, rent, resources as well as supporting staff. To elaborate, by giving freedom of working from home, company has to accommodate less number of employees which could result in lower electricity bill and less number of supporting staff such as peon. Moreover, if people work from home, they can not be absent for the work even in the harsh weather conditions which often is seen while work at the office. However, there are few drawbacks of working from home for both employer and employee. Sometimes people miss the atmosphere of working with the colleagues physically which can develop their team spirit. For the company, it can be difficult to bring its staff members to the office in an emergency client meeting as workers are often reluctant to attend it physically.

Furthermore, since working from home benefit both employer and employee, government should provide financial incentives in order to promote remote work culture to the companies. To explain, more working from home can result in lessen vehicles on the roads. decreased number of vehicles on the road can direcly contribute to reduction of pollution in the air as well as traffic congestion during the peak time can be easily addressed. To promote environment protection, it is good idea for the authority to provide some concession in the tax for the companies who let their employees work remotely.

To conclude, although remote work stands negligible drawbacks, it has mostly positive impact overall not only for the firms but also for their workers. Government should intervene to promote the remote work culture by incentivize businesses who let their staffs to work from home.