Many companies are now implementing remote work policies. Some argue that this leads to increased productivity and better work-life balance, while others believe it diminishes teamwork and company culture. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Remote jobs have been increasing in demand ever since the pandemic occured. Since covid 19 occured, many people have been fighting for job opportunities due to the number of jobs lost in this pandemic. This has lead to supply and demand problem in many companies. There are several advantages and disadvantages of implementing remote work policies.

Firstly, remote work policies help to cut off transport and fuel costs. Employees do not have to wake up extremely early to get ready to go to work. This calls for more work- life balance. Secondly, implementing remote work policies allow them to spend more leisure time with their loved ones. Lastly, it helps employees to discover new emerging technologies and platforms to use such as google meet, zoom and skype for online meetings. Moreover, this allows for more creativity by using social media to promote companies.

By contrast, this decreases the chances of real-life interactions with colleagues and bosses. Sometimes online meetings might not be useful as some meetings can only be done face to face. Companies may lose creativity and innovation due to lesser exchange of ideas. There will be too many applicants who would apply for a remote schedule which causes a competition between applicants.

In my opinion, the pros outweighs the cons. I believe it is right to implement work policies but not permanently. Implementing work policies also allow employees to take care of themselves and their mental health. However, implementing them permanently may cause a loss in the company’s culture and lessen the chances of real- life conversations between people.