Many companies now use social media to recruit employees. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Since social media became an alternative channel that many companies consider using for recruitment, there are both pros and cons to using this platform for finding new employees.

Starting from the advantages, recruiting workers from social media channels could help them reach a huge number of users who live on the platform, even those in the organization’s list or beyond target audiences, because it became a mainstream channel that people have used to consume information for more than fifteen years. Another reason is that it saves the company time and resources. In the past, when the recruitment team recruited an employee, they approached candidates by cold-calling or scheduling in-person meetings. That method required them to invest many resources to contact a few people, whereas using social media assists them in working effectively.

However, recruitment through these channels could make them pay larger amounts to solve issues when they reach the wrong target groups, who may not be interested in the positions the company is seeking or who do not have the abilities to meet the minimum requirements for the roles. For that reason, it can cause more loss than savings if they get incapable people to work with them in critical positions.

In my point of view, the reliability depends on the text that they crafted in the post and the social media channel that those companies decide to use for promoting new opportunities to work with them. Honestly, I think social media on different platforms has a different purpose and strategy to capture people in various groups. That means if I am interested in some jobs but it is posted in the wrong channel, it may make me distrust the company.