Many countries are experiencing a decline in traditional craftsmanship, such as pottery and weaving, due to industrialization. Is it the government's responsibility to protect these crafts, even if they are not economically viable? Discuss your opinion.

Nowadays, local products are overlooked as there has been a significant increase in bulk-production and a boost in globalization.This has resulted in experiencing a decrease in the traditional art and crafts in the local market because these goods are of lower costs due to mass production and western influence taking over the society. In my opinion government should be promoting policies to not only protect such crafts but also provide financial assistance. Although, this is not feasible from affordabilty point of view, but if authorities will not take action this could lead to local heritage and culture losing it’s place in the society. Additionally, protection of such arts and craft also increase tourism.

One of the compelling reason behind the preservation of traditional art is heritage and culture. Many individuals believe that if younger generation will not be introduced to their culture, this could led them feeling inferior regarding their history. A way to spark interest in youger generation is through the medium of arts and craft. For Example: In Jaipur’s Amer fort, puppet shows are performed every hour free of cost for the visitors throughout the day. I personally observed children enjoying this oldest form of storytelling of Rajasthan.

Another reason is such government actions led to a rise in artists and craftsman. There increase in number helps attract tourism as many tourists are curious and interested to learn about the local art. For example: In udaipur, government has helped financially and encouraged local painters by giving loans for learning the traditional Pichwai Art and lowering the GST on the painting equippement.Both domestic and international tourists join painting classes and buy paintings resulting in this art form getting well-known and artists have become financially independent.

In conclusion, even though governement will incur some loss as such actions are often financially burden, however, such practices support local arts and crafts and promote local heritage to domestic and international individuals alike.