Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Several different countries around the globe have mandatory military service for young men after they complete their studies. In recent years, there has been an increasing debate that all countries should adopt this approach, not only for male population, but also for the female one. From my perspective, there should not be any type of obligation for either of them.

To begin with, required military service means that a country is constantly preparing itself for a war. The majority of people are going to live their life in constant fear of an upcoming war, even though this is not the case for the most part. This can lead to a significant increase of levels of pressure and distress among the youth. Most of them are already afraid of their professional and work-related future, and asking them for a compulsory military duty may affect them negatively. For instance, adolescents attending high school are more likely to give up undergraduate studies, if national duty is involved. This can be illustrated in countries like Georgia, which has a mandatory military call of 6 months for only men. As a matter of fact, the female population is more tertiary-educated compared to the male one. A similar phenomenon takes place in Vietnam.

Furthermore, if said bill is proposed and it becomes a law then, anxiety and stress are going to be the most common feelings among younger generations. A war is a reality that is not commonly experienced by the majority of the global population, fortunately. However, if the whole world’s young population is required to take part in the service, it can easily become a new reality for them.Not to mention, the world’s government authorities are more likely to start a conflict because their whole population has now acquired essential elements of warfare. A clear example of this is the United States, which has the largest number of military forces and also the biggest number of offensive attacks on other countries.

Taking everything into account, the proposed bill will not have a positive outcome on young individuals’ professional career as well as on their mental health. Owing to this, I strongly believe that the statement suggested is not a wise one.