Many countries spend a lot of money on art. Some people think investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some nations’ high expenditure on art has incited a heated debate on its necessity. While some people believe that funding art is essential, others believe that this money can be put into more beneficial use such as enhancing the schooling and healthcare sectors. This essay will consider both viewpoints and will outline why I stand at a cross-section between agreeing and disagreeing.

Art is a crucial aspect of a country’s culture. Art comes in a variety of forms, including: paintings, sculptures, music, dance, and literature. It is crucial that a nation protects and maintains their heritage, culture, and traditions which can be conveyed through arts. For instance, the sculptures and the engravings of the pharaohs were key to analyzing their traditions and understanding their culture. Similarly, the unique art of each country would be a guide to tourists and archeologists to learn more about their lifestyles, which makes funding and investing in preserving and encouraging art justifiable for nations.

On the other hand, many individuals argue that governments should direct this spending towards enhancing the services provided by the medical and educational fields. It is undeniable that hospitals and schools are both essential facilities that are needed by people on a daily basis. This shows that it should be a priority for officials in the country to invest in providing the most advanced technologies to improve the efficiency, productivity, and outcomes of the services of these sectors. For example, importing the latest lab and medical apparatus would aid doctors to better diagnose and treat citizens in the country.

Personally, I believe that arts, healthcare, and schooling are all prominent aspects of human life and they require equal attention from authorities. Health and education are essential to ensure life quality; however, art is equally important because it reflects the culture of a country. Therefore, equal attention should be provided to these sectors by the government.

In conclusion, a balance must be struck between the expenditure on arts, medicine, and education to ensure a well-rounded society.