Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

People who commit a crime often tend to repeat committing crimes. This can be due to poverty and low socioeconomic status. Some possible solutions to resolve this problem involve individual criminals and the authorities.

It is evident that low economic status is associated with a higher crime rate compared with people of a middle or high economic status. Take a thief for example. People in poverty cannot afford to buy food, resulting in stealing some food from stores to survive. Even though they are caught by the police and punished, it is difficult to manage their lives without committing crimes. Also, poverty could make people mentally unstable, leading to child abuse and domestic violence. These crimes are sometimes uncontrollable and inevitable by criminals themselves.

To prevent these criminals from occurring, not only individuals but also the governments play a significant role. With regard to the governments, they should provide more support to residents with poor economic status. For instance, increasing the number of public apartments at an affordable price to help them reduce their daily expenses could be one of the reasonable solutions. In addition to this type of government subsidy, each individual should also take a step to tackle their own issues. They can be a psychologist or a counsellor to improve their mental health so that detrimental behaviour can be altered.

In summary, completely eliminating crimes can be a very hard task and might not be able to achieve; however, there are a number of measures that we can try to prevent the reoccurring of crimes, which should include individual people and the authorities.