Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, it is common that ex-offendersviolate the law repeatedly although they have been punished. In this essay, I will initially discuss the reasons for this situation, followed by my suggestions which can assist in preventing crimes from happening.

There are primarily two factors largely responsible for recidivism. To commence with, the sanctions against criminals are not harsh enough. In other words, being punished does not make a huge difference to offenders, leading to the possibility that these people are normally unable to realise the detrimental consequences that breaching the law will entail for victims and society, and such behaviour is likely to be re-exhibited as a result. Additionally, former convicts are not completely accepted in society. People released from prison seem to be automatically judged as those whose character is poor. Their family and friends may not embrace them and employers refuse to recruitthem. Therefore, nothing can help them to survive but to re-offend.

To cease crimes, several approaches can be adopted. Firstly, the implementation of more punitive measures is effective. Only when people are truly conscious of their wrongdoing both physically and psychologically can they stop themselves from committing crimes. For instance, a longer stint of community service or jail sentence is respectively appropriate for convicts with minor crimes and serious ones. Secondly, providing more vocational training sessions and job opportunities for those with criminal records is another feasible solution. If they can earn a livingindependently, having sufficient money to afford accommodation and feed themselves, they are rarely motivated to participate in some illegal activities again.

In conclusion, lenient punishments for law breakers and less social tolerance for previous criminals are the two major two causes of re-offending. However, if severer penalties can be meted out to prisoners and meanwhile ex-criminals are allowed to have a smoother re-entry into the community, crime issues can be tackled.