Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many studies request that a high rate of lawbreakers who were sentenced to jail would commit an offense after they were released. In this piece of writing, the consequences of this problem are analyzed, and some solutions are put forward to curb the number of criminals.

It is clear that the high recidivism rate stems from several factors. After having paid for misdeeds, a criminal record makes ex-prisoners become victims of social prejudice. In particular, they cast doubt on them, which makes it difficult for the victims to find a decent job. As a result, former prisoners do not have a stable source of income. Some of them have to do illegal work to provide a living for their family needs. Criminals often have their own criminal networks. Therefore, after being free from jail, along with not seeking a job, many people are bullied by ill-mannered friends and are lured into crime.

Accordingly, a number of measures are required to limit the reconviction rate. With the support from the government, which is one of the most important things. Specifically, job training in prison equips the prisoners with the necessary skills and knowledge to become self-employed workers with simple jobs. In addition, preferable loans assist them in starting their own business, encourage former prisoners to have a better life, and re-integrate into the community. Moreover, applying more severe penalties to reconvict. Notably, longer imprisonment or even depth penalties separate those who fail to rehabilitate from society and also have a deterrent to those who intend to return to the path of sin.

In conclusion, a lack of jobs, and leads ex-prisoners to do unlawful activities, which are the reason why people continue to commit crimes after being released from jail. Therefore, support from the government and strict punishment are necessary to limit recidivism.