Many customs and traditional ways of behavior are no longer relevant to modern life and not worth keeping. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that plenty of customs and traditions are no longer relevant to the modern world and it is not worth keeping those rituals. However, I believe that traditions and customs are important to remind us who we are and they may also help us learn the history and different cultures.

First, customs and traditions contribute to a community’s identity, they help to maintain a sense of belonging in a fast-developing world. Cultures and traditions help individuals express their identity through clothing, food, language, ceremonies, or even art. Celebrating various traditions within a different-culture community can promote positivity and understanding among cultures while showing respect. For example, India is known for its vast cultural diversity, with many different ethnic groups, traditions, languages, and religions. Each state has its customs, traditions, festivals, and cuisines making India unique. Thus, we should never be embarrassed to represent our culture and follow its traditions in a rapidly changing world.

Second, traditions provide a context for historical events and reasons behind cultural rituals and their evolution. For example, many young children do not know the reasoning behind cultural myths and beliefs, and learning their history may influence us to appreciate our traditions and customs even more. Moreover, seeing varied traditions and rituals in real life or on social media can encourage people to explore and appreciate varied worldviews and beliefs. This can be done by listening to other cultures’ music, exploring and studying their art, and maybe by traveling to a particular country. Understanding the historical significance of our traditions and engaging with diverse cultures deepens our appreciation for them.

In conclusion, customs and traditions are essential for shaping our identities and how they connect us to our history and appreciate diverse cultures, promoting understanding and respect in a fast-developing world.