Many elderly individuals fail to engage in regular exercise. What factors contribute to this issue, and how can we encourage them to exercise more?

Health is one of the most important blessing of mankind and in order to be healthy one has to exercise regularly but unfortunately due to sedentary lifestyle specially the elderly people fail to do so and leads to health issues . Hence,for this we to educate them and aware them about the risks and benefits and encourage them.

The pervasive influence of technology in modern life has sparked concerns about its impact on people’s life as they tend to spend most of their time on social media and tend to stay at home rather than going outside and exercising, specially the geriatric community are now more inclined towards just staying home and showing news and shows on television. In addition to it due to unhealthy lifestyle there are health issues and diseases more prevalent in elderly people which restrict going out and doing exercise which further worsens their condition. As proved by study conducted by UN which proved that sedentary lifestyle is one of the focal problems of health related issues.

To solve the problem there must be proper counselling on the importance of being healthy and should emphasised to follow it religiously. As it is evident that for diabetic patients it is necessary to walk everyday so that they have good glycemic control and even in prediabetics diabetes could be prevented by simply exercising and eating healthy. Apart from this it enhances socialism where people meet and share their experiences and develop good relationships together create a healthy environment.

To conclude although there are health related issues which restrict exercise but these problems should be addressed and should be educated to lead a healthy lifestyle and doctors play crucial role in raising awareness despite the challenges.