Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the housing crisis has sparked in many megapolises because these cities cannot ensure land for new buildings. Hence, an extreme solution has been proposed by some local governments to reassign parkland for the construction of new buildings. I strongly disagree with this as it threatens the population ecologically and it will further exacerbate the situation.

Firstly, such an extreme measure will aggravate the pollution of megapolises because most parks serve as an air filter for cities. Parks contain a lot of trees, which have the sole purpose of cleaning the air and the initial reason for parks’ preservation is to balance between pollution and filtration. Therefore, if the government implemented this policy, people would suffer from this in the long term. For example, the implementation of a similar policy can be seen in China, which implemented many of them and now it is eagerly trying to construct parks artificially.

On the other hand, this measure will only aggravate the problem further. This is due to the fact that parks usually cover a small space in cities and in fact, this is not solving the actual cause of this. The actual cause of the housing crisis is poor planning of cities and the inappropriate work of the government. For example, Kazakhstan is a clear example of this because it has enabled companies to build without regulations, consequently, it is now suffering from it. Therefore, parks are not the actual cause of the issue.

In conclusion, the implementation of such policies will threaten the population’s health and it will not resolve the core issue.