Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

In many historical places and museums, it is becoming commonplace for national as well as international tourists to travel, whereas local residents hardly ever visit those sites. This phenomenon is based on numerous reasons, along with solutions that will be elucidated in this essay.

The common explanation for this lack of attraction is the frequency with which local inhabitants visit these heritage sites. It is a disturbing undeniable fact that people will visit a place less often if they are around it frequently, especially if they have visited it thousands of times. Since these local residents live near the historical sites, they understand the places more completely than others. They know exactly the location, the view, and the activities there; as a result, they do not have a tendency to visit them. To be more specific, the Hanoians rarely take time to visit Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, which is not only a historical site but also a place to preserve the body of the initial president of Vietnam, since they have many chances to come there before. Moreover, people nowadays prefer resting to exploring; they tend to change the pace of life by traveling to different areas. Therefore, these dwellers do not favor local places.

To address this issue, both governments and inhabitants have to join hands in raising awareness. Firstly, the governments should invest more money in constructing the infrastructure of several museums or archaeological sites. They can rebuild the resting areas by adding more types of food, sitting places, or repainting those zones. This would attract local residents through new identification, since young adults tend to focus on the difference, which might appeal to them. Secondly, more activities like traditional sports competitions should occur in historical sites more often. These activities bridge the gap among people, creating a bustling atmosphere. Therefore, they will not only bring people numerous opportunities to improve their practical skills but also attract more participants.

In conclusion, each dweller should be aware of the vitality of museums or heritages around them. In this case, the governments should encourage them more by implementing several attractive policies.