Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by tourists not local people. Why this happens? What can be done to solve this problem?

It has become common to see many tourists go to museums and heritage sites not local residents. The question as to why this happens has been thrown up. It can be explained in several ways, and there are a few practical measures to encourage local people to visit museums.

The primary reason why people have no longer a desire to visit museums is that locals may take their surroundings for granted. This is because museums looking much like storage rooms of objects packed together in showcases and the information accompanying the objects make little sense to the local people, as they already have a good understanding about their local area and history assuming they can always visit them later. Obviously, these places cannot be necessarily relevant or interesting to them. Tourists, on the other hand, often have a greater curiosity and desire to explore the cultural heritage of the places they visit. Secondly, local people may have busy schedules, other commitments and limited free time, which makes it challenging for them to allocate time specifically for visiting museums and historicals sites. In contrast, tourists often have limited time in a particular destination, thereby prioritize visiting these attractions during their stay. Last reason can be derived from museums themselves. Many museums and heritage sites have fallen into a state of neglect, thus have become poorly-maintained, due to the fact that governments do not pay attention to these places. Consequently, local people’s interest in museums has faded away.

To address this problem, several ways can be adopted. Firstly, it is evident that people can be tempted to go to museums when they are exposed to a constant stream of advertisements on historical sites. This can be done through various social media platforms highlighting unique features of these places. As a result, it can give rise to an increased number of visits by locals. Furthermore, local people can flock to museums, as long as the way history and information are presented should be altered. In today’s techonological world, the key word in heritage display should be ‘experience’, the more exciting the better and, if possible, involving all the senses, whereby cutting edge technologies are integrated. To cite an example, in Williamsburg Museum which is a prototype for many heritage developments in other parts if the world computers provide virtual reality experiences, which present visitors with a vivid image of the period of their choice, in which they themselves can act as if part of historical environment. This can draw attention of not only locals but also foreign visitors.

To wrap it up, while there are much less visitations of local people than tourists to museums and historical sites because locals are familiar with these places and have no interest, we can achieve productive results through digital engagement resulting in better historical places

#task2.