Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by tourists not local people. Why this happens? What can be done to solve this problem?

The past decades have seen an exponential growth in the number of tourists visiting museums and historical sites, rather than local dwellers. This essay will delve into discussing several plausible answers to this phenomenon and suggest practical solutions to the case.

There are several reasons why historical museums and exhibitions seem to be more appealing to travelers. One of the major issues related to this is that the majority of natives are familiar and have already visited those places. Hence, the demand for coming back to local heritage exhibitions from local inhabitants is lessened, leading to the majority of visitors are nonlocals and tourists. The less significant the curiosity, the fewer the number of locals coming to these places. A classic demonstration of this is that, in Vietnam, most teenagers or even mature adults these days are running a higher risk of leaving their own country and seeking outsider tourist attractions in their holidays. As a matter of fact, the natives have a higher tendency of finding other attractions besides from their hometown to explore and experience, as they are more interested in learning about other cultures, rather than their own.

There are numerous actions that can be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Local residents should be attracted to museums and historical sites by regular events and activities that are held by the government. If there are no engageable competitions that can call on for the locals to participate, the ancient values of that particular site will be easily faded away. Not only can activities appeal to mature adults, but education also plays an indispensable role to the key of this issue. More funds should be allocated to school trips for students of all ages to visit these sites annually, and there should be lessons related to local history integrated into syllabus throughout the school year.

In conclusion, many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people due to the acquaintance of locals to their surroundings and their needs of exploring new places. There are numerous measures that can be made to improve the issue, such as organizing events and combining educational activities to teaching curriculum to raise children’s awareness of their local history.