Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by tourists not local people. Why this happens? What can be done to solve this problem?

In today’s interconnected world, museums together with historical sites in many countries worldwide attract more foreign tourists than local residents. Personally, there are two main reasons behind this tendency, and actions can be introduced accordingly to welcome local visitors to these sites.

One of the noticeable reasons why local tourists are not interested in these places lies in their attitudes. In fact, some of them have a tendency to take neighbouring sites such as museums for granted. Believing that these places have nothing to offer alongside familiar historical knowledge, local residents neglect and view such sites as mundane and hence undesirable, culminating in the lack of intention to visit. Another trigger could be the interest of local citizens in out-of-town destinations, places that they think they should try and broaden their horizons. These beliefs could drive them to prioritize these sites when travelling, paying less attention to local ones.

Actions could be taken to attract local people to neighbouring museums and historical sites. To begin with, campaigns should be raised to provide the local with fundamental knowledge about these places, showing them that such sites are of paramount importance and worthy of visiting. In addition, it is crucial for governments and local authorities to facilitate programs and services that aim to benefit the local when visiting such sites. A cheaper entrance fee, for instance, could attract more local tourists to come and visit historical sites in their area, making these places more appealing compared to foreign sites with expensive hospitality.

To wrap up, I hold the notion that the lack of awareness and personal interest are two major reasons why regional tourists neglect local sites. Actions such as helding educational projects and upgrading services could be mentioned as the according solution, welcoming more domestic visitors to come.