Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Crime has been very common for former prisoners nowadays. Even though there are serious causes for this issue, such as rehabilitation scarcity and unemployment, developing new rehabilitation facilities and employing ex-prisoners can resolve this problem.

After serving years in prison, numerous prisoners suffer from mental disabilities. The government prioritises punishments rather than rehabilitation. Too many deadly and painful punishments can cause criminals to lose their minds, and it is very challenging for them to heal on their own without rehabilitation centres. As a result, most of the criminals commit crimes again and again due to psychological instability and lack of social support. To tackle this problem, the government should develop and focus on rehabilitation facilities to cure mental disabilities. If prisoners are healed enough, they will not repeat the crimes which cost them their freedom for many years. For example, countries like Norway invest heavily in rehabilitation, and their reoffending rate is extremely low, which proves that such facilities are effective.

Moreover, another reason why ex-prisoners commit crimes is job scarcity. After being released, a large number of ex-criminals struggle to find a job, which eventually leads them to commit crimes such as robbing a bank or burglary to make money. Society often refuses to trust former offenders, and employers hesitate to hire them. A possible solution would be employing offenders, which will lead them to generate adequate income for living and feel accepted by society. If given a second chance, many of them can become productive citizens.

In conclusion, lack of rehabilitation facilities and employment are the major causes of recommitting crimes among offenders. However, with enough rehabilitation centres and job offers, this problem could be solved effectively