Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

After incarceration, many re-offence under the influence of a criminogenic environment. This can be addressed by implementing reentering programs based on a mentoring approach.

Neighborhood-level factor is a primary cause of committing more crimes after being firstly released form a prison. Re-offenders are products of their environment as many of them originate from deprived areas and if after release, they find themselves there again, this can result in re-offence. Being in the confines of such low-income neighborhoods, with a greater availability of drugs and alcohol and gang-related activities, can seduce a newly released criminal into returning to the old path. For instance, those who served punishment for drug dealing, are more likely to get in touch with their former gang members if they live next door, which often results in re-offence.

To break the cycle of recidivism, mentoring programs which provide additional support to resist a criminogenic environment can be implemented. Mentoring provided in groups or individually can play an important role in keeping them involved in a reentering program, employed and out of trouble. Meeting with their non judgmental and supportive mentors or attending group sessions where they can be listened to, ex-convicts can get the support they need. Mentors not only help them problem-solve and think about the choices they make, but also maintain regular contacts with ex-criminals, so that they know there is someone there on whom they can rely.After incarceration, many re-offence under the influence of a criminogenic environment. This can be addressed by implementing reentering programs based on a mentoring approach.

To break the cycle of recidivism, mentoring programs which provide additional support to resist a criminogenic environment can be implemented. Mentoring provided in groups or individually can play an important role in keeping them involved in a reentering program, employed and out of trouble. Meeting with their non judgmental and supportive mentors or attending group sessions where they can be listened to, ex-convicts can get the support they need. Mentors not only help them problem-solve and think about the choices they make, but also maintain regular contacts with ex-criminals, so that they know there is someone there on whom they can rely.