Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals re-offend as soon as they get released from prison. One of the main reasons is the lack of rehabilitation while in jail. There are a number of solutions can be implemented to deal with this problem.

Firstly, one of the main reasons for offenders to re-offend after they completed their sentence is due to the lack of rehabilitation inside the prison. For example, proper psychological rehabilitation is essential to guide them morally after prison in addition to re-train them and give them a variety of lessons and new skills that can help them build a different life path. Secondly, it is common to exclude offenders from society out of fear of their actions. They face difficulty in finding employment, which may affect them mentally and trigger their criminal traits.

There are two effective methods to tackle this problem. One is to ensure all prisoners are given proper education and training in helpful skills. This can raise their chances to find a job after serving their sentences. Another method of dealing with reoffenders is to monitor them after their release. In some countries, criminals who are likely to commit crimes again are required to wear an electronic device around the ankles for supervision purposes. In this way, they can be watched all the time. This solution would hopefully prevent them from reoffending.

In conclusion, although the lack of rehabilitation and exclusion from society can be the reasons for offenders to reoffend, we can tackle this problem by giving prisoners skills training and education, as well as monitoring them. This can be effective in preventing criminals from committing crimes again.