Many organisations and companies ask their staff to wear a uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? What kind of jobs should have a work uniform?

The following paragraphs will cover the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed uniform for companies’ staff, and what category of companies will benefit the most of this practice.

Uniforms within organizations can be beneficial in terms of appearance, organization, and credibility. As an initial point, a public opinion survey result suggested that companies whom staff have unified uniform appear 30 percent more formal than the other category. Furthermore, uniforms offer a great method of organization; for example in a Formula One race mechanics responsible for changing tires wear a different uniform; the National Army seals have a different uniform compared to the Navy. As an additional point when all the employees have a unified premade clothing decreases the chance of trespassing on other individuals therefore providing a layer of security among the staff, this small detail can make a huge impact hence why its law enforcement groups wear uniforms.

With all the benefits now discussed, attention can be now shifted towards the drawbacks. The policy of a uniform can limit the freedom of an employee when it comes to clothing choice; although it seems minor, this can lead to a decline in performance within the organization. Secondly, many organizations cannot afford to equip its staff with more than two uniforms, which in time will result in clothing quality and appearance declining with each use.

The Uniform policy has benefits and drawbacks, which makes it not suitable for all organizations. To benefit the most of this policy, it should be applied only within organizations where order and security are essential like food services and law enforcement. Whereas companies where order and security is essential are better of with professional attire.