Many parents go to work in other countries and take family with them. Do the advantages in this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a growing trend where people go to work in other countries in search of better job opportunities and higher-paid salaries, and take their families with them. In my opinion, the advantages of this phenomenon, such as learning other countries’ customs, work adaptability, and communication skills, can far outweigh the drawbacks that encompass social isolation and homesickness.

One of the primary advantages of immigrating to other nations in pursuit of facilities is that individuals benefit from learning about other nations’ cultures and traditions, which allows them to gain new perspectives and broaden their understanding of the world. Furthermore, they can easily improve their communication and technological competencies swiftly than those who work in a specific country for a long time; as a result, they have a chance to adapt to the work because they are exposed to many work-related challenges as they transform their workplaces. Moreover, given that the parents’ children learn new concepts and languages, they are likely to develop better cognitive skills and become more adaptable in diverse environments.

One negative consequence associated with this circumstance, in contrast, is missing their home country. When parents move to another country in order to work, they miss their close-knit neighborhood, close friends, and their family members. Therefore, parents and children may feel lonely as they are far from relatives and friends. One further drawback is the language obstacle that can prevent children from fully engaging in school and social activities. For instance, in a school group discussion, children may be unable to participate fully if they lack sufficient vocabulary or topic-specific language. As a result, they may feel isolated and disconnected from their peers.

By way of conclusion, although working in another country has led to a few repercussions for parents and children at the same time, I am convinced that both gain valuable skills and experiences.