Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Numbers of people tend to share their personal information in exchange for gaining access to applications made by technology companies. It gives a benefit for organizations to understand the customers’ profiles and create more targeted products. However, there are more chances for the company to use the data illegally.

Allowing a technology provider using our data means we feed them with information about the things we love to have. It happens a lot these days, especially in our social media activity. The industry always recommends us with photos or videos we are appealing to. For instance, when we often look into food recipes, the platform will provide us with a chef account, restaurant, or any other content that increases our interest in it. This system is builded based on the latest study which says that the more information is provided to the user, their screen time will be increasing and it influences their loyalties to the platforms. However, it is all developed for business purposes. They can use our data without asking or considering our concern.

All data we share is kept in the company storage media. Even if they tell us that it will not be used for something illegal, yet we do not have a clue about the exact things they do with our personal stuff. Lately, it is happening in Indonesia. The company shares the Indonesian phone number to third parties, with the aim to get a benefit from their barteres. The most incentives they get are the investment they gain from the third parties so the company could grow bigger and be the leading organization in the industry.

In conclusion, sharing our data will benefit the content we consume. However, it shares many disadvantages especially in the illegal data use by the company.