Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, many people are giving their personal information to technology corporations in exchange for access to their sites. Despite some arguments, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will first demonstrate the potential benefits of allowing companies to access crucial information of their clients and then outlines some minor drawbacks.

Giving permission to technology firms is beneficial because when the permission is granted through an agreement of privacy and policy, the company can then know better about the preferences of their client. Moreover, they will try to eliminate the type of content the user is not interested in and will only allow the content that the user wish to see by giving easier access to it. For instance, Instagram now mostly shows the content that the users want to see on their feed by looking through the personal information and preferences of its clients.

Furthermore, these tech companies keep the personal information of their clients safe and protected. They use different security systems to ensure that the crucial data is protected from hackers. Additionally, the users can also access their data if they lose their phone. For example, a woman was able to access her pictures and videos by simply logging into her Apple Cloud account after she lost her phone in a robbery.

However, despite all the advantages, some critics think that some tech companies can still use the vital information in a wrong way by selling it on dark web or leaking it to other powerful people, although no evidence shows that something like this has happened. For instance, a recent study found that Apple denied America the access to their client’s confidential information over security concerns.

In conclusion, even though there are some minor drawbacks by allowing tech corporations to get a hold of the client’s encrypted data, these disadvantages can be overlooked if we consider the potential benefits, which include better content on one’s feed and protection of private information.