Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days a lot of tech companies tend to use personal data to access software ecosystems. Apart from the demerits, such as violation of personal space, this essay will examine the merits behind this trend, since the regulation was developed as a safety measure for people.

Although the intention of implementation of this policy is positive, some may still perceive this as an invasion of their personal lives. In other words, software users can never trust that their personal information is safe. Since software is set by distinct codes and protocol regulations, some technical-related issues can occur, leading to problems, such as data loss, system failures, and security breaches. Furthermore, not only does it violate individuals’ rights to decide what information they prefer to share or not, but also prevents them making deliberate choices.

Despite this, since it was originally designed to prevent cybercrimes and maintain the safety of the Internet users, its purpose adds weight to the policy’s merits. The tech space has become a dangerous environment, harboring a great number of hackers and putting people at a high risk of data theft. This risk has increased even further, since people have moved toward technical advancements, storing passports and other paramount documents electronically. For example, cyber-terrorists with advanced IT skills can access bank accounts, commit identity thefts, or blackmail innocent people.

To conclude, the use of personal information may fringe people’s rights, as many prefer to keep it private. Nevertheless, considering that some individuals might pose a threat to others, data should be processed appropriately. This makes the regulation more of an advantage rather than a drawback.