Many people believe that all zoos should be closed, while others claim that zoos have a positive impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

From the beginning of the world, human-animal interaction is a specific kind of relationship in nature. However, those interactions become limited due to the urbanization and deforestation. As a results, the concept of zoo had emerged. Some people believe that concept of limiting the natural habitant of the animal is beneficial, others argue zoos are kind of prisons to animal. However, in my opinion, while I believe it would surely be a prison if animals are supposed to live in cages, I disagree that all zoos are same. This essay will discuss why I deny the idea that it is necessary to close all zoos and argue that they can be arranged as a protective model.

It is argued that zoo cages are more like prison to the wild animals since the conditions are not matched with their natural habitat. This is because many zoo cages are only design to meet the requirement of the audience, not the animal well-being. As an example, animal protecting organizations are clamming that five main zoos have been captivating blue wheals in small ponds and as a result those animals develop an unusual behaviour and poor health. Additionally, being captive in a wrong environment leads to life cycle destruction in animals. For these reasons, it is evident that animal cages are destroying the ecosystem and should be closed.

Conversely, there are some zoos that vowed to protect the animal, their natural habitat, life cycle and well-being. Those zoos are more like national parks which allow animals to live freely, at the same time allows visitors to see their natural behaviours. Such protective areas in Sri Lanka include, wilpatthuwa national park, Ridiyagama safari park, Udawalawa ational park to name but few. Since this type of zoos protect the animals from natural disasters, they will be beneficial for the future exitance of them.

In conclusion, with the increasing human intervention in nature, animals should be protected separately, while focusing on their well-being, not only the profit. So that, animal cages with poor hygiene should be banned; however, a separate area to protect animals from changing environment should be exist. Ultimately, the concept of zoo is not entirely bad for animals but keep their generational existence safe in the future.