Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

Over recent decades, it is irrefutable that educational standards have declined especially in the areas of literacy and numeracy. The purpose of this essay is to evaluate various causes and proffer plausible solutions.

To start with, literacy is the ability to read, write, listen, and speak which allows effective communication, while numeracy refers to the ability to apply mathematical concepts in daily life. It is fascinating to know that educational standards began to decline when technology development was booming. Even though automatic machines and gadgets are to make our lives easier, they are making us too lazy. Instant messages succor fast communication however it prompts us to use chatting acronyms. Even the students are busy playing video games and surfing the internet rather than reading books.

Clearly, it is not possible to eradicate the problem with a single solution. Some people believe that limiting the usage of devices by students will help them to improve their standards. However, even the government needs to modify the education system which gives due importance to literary work which enables them to learn their culture through the reading of their culture literature. In addition, it is vital to facilitate practical knowledge for students. An effective approach should be adopted by the teachers which helps the students to solve real-world problems logically and reasonably.

To sum up, literacy and numeracy skills are essential in our daily lives, thus the utmost importance must be given to enhancing educational standards.