Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? What are solutions to change negative attitudes?

Many individuals think that global tourism has a negative effect on their country. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two primary reasons as to why international tourism has a detrimental impact on a nation. One rationale is that global tourism may have an undesirable impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices. For example, in Vietnam, numerous Western visitors have a tendency to wear short jeans and a T-shirt or unsuitable clothes when visiting sacred places, such as Ho Chi Minh’s Mausoleum, which may adversely affect the local youngsters’ lifestyle. Another justification is that foreign tourists often pollute or litter beautiful spots and several famous beaches. For instance, a variety of noted beaches in Vietnam, such as Vung Tau and Cua Lo, have been spoiled because of this lack of respect for the local environment, causing a deterioration in the living habitats of the locals, and eventually having an adverse bearing on people’s health problems who live nearby.

To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. First and foremost. One remedy is to arrange to sell suitable clothes in front of solemn spots. For example, in Hanoi, Vietnam before entering to visit Ho Chi Minh’s mausoleum, if tourists wear these appropriate clothes, they have permission to go inside, so this could foster adequate behaviors of international travelers and eventually a positive perception towards these guests among local dwellers. Furthermore, governing bodies should enforce strict regulations such as heavy fines or even bans on those littering or polluting the local environment, which could protect the residents from being contaminated by the irresponsible behavior of tourists, and this could act as a deterrent for others intending to take similar actions.

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative perception towards international tourism, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to change this oppositional perspective.