Many people believe that tourism is a beneficial industry for countries. However, others think it can cause serious problems for local communites and the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the 21st century, touristic sites have evolved from informative regions into commercial backdrops addressed primarily to tourists, which raises question around the potential consequences of this shift. Tourism has made visiting desirable areas, learning information and spending time ,meaningfully, more straightforward than watching TV or using the internet. Although a minority believe that tourism is of great avail to the economy, the majority state firmly that local communities are extremely affected by it.

On the one hand, it has been widely acknowledged by supporters that tourism, mass tourism in particular, has multiple adverse effects on locals. To begin with, overwhelmed by increasing visitor numbers, many destinations are increasingly confronted with the risk of losing something fundamental: the native inhabitants. For example, the relentless demand of tourists has placed a strain on the shared spaces in Vencie, pushing residents out. Moreover, tourism significantly undermines the social cohesion among citizens, turning everyday life into spectacle; consequently, tension arises in society.

On the other hand, critics have opposed the former argument, arguing that one major advantage of tourism is its profound impact on the economy. To elaborate, tourists often book hotels, purchase souvenirs and dine in local restaurants, serving as a catalyst to the economy. Even though this might be partially valid, it lacks ample evidence. In fact, currently, tourists do not depend mostly on locally made products for their use, nor do they often have their meals in restaurants on a regular basis; it might be on occasions that a tourist decides to treat themselves in a prestigious restaurant, for instance.

In conclusion, despite opposing this by some people, the local communities suffering from tourism are recognised by a large segment of the population, for tourism alters every aspect of their lives, from everyday conversations to their accommodation. In my opinion, were we to preserve the social life of the local residents, touristic activities should be mitigated.